Monster RPG 3 - Manual

Title Screen

The game starts at the title screen with a few buttons along the bottom of the screen. The Start button kicks off your adventure, the Load button allows you to load a save or autosave, the Exit button exits the game and the Settings button (small gear) opens the settings menu. Some of these buttons are not available on all platforms. On some platforms, a Continue button may be available which will resume your game.

Playing the Game

The controls used to play the game vary by device and attached hardware. They include keyboard, gamepad and touchscreen controls. The descriptions that follow will include all available control methods, so use the one appropriate for your device and settings.

For keyboard and joystick controls, check the Keyboard Settings and Joystick Settings for the keys and buttons corresponding to the actions listed below. The defaults will be given, but you are free to change them.

Red Triangle

At the top left corner of the screen, there is a red triangle. Pressing it is equivalent to pressing escape; or in other words, it is the Cancel/Back button when using a touchscreen or mouse. It is also used to open the Main Menu during the free movement segments.

Dialogue

Various dialogue boxes will appear during gameplay. You can advance the dialogue by pressing the Return key, the A button on your gamepad or by tapping anywhere on your touchscreen.

Moving Around

Movement occurs in the four cardinal directions: North, East, South and West, one tile at a time.

When using a keyboard, gamepad or on-screen controls, the arrows and/or DPAD correspond to the 4 directions. For example, press the up arrow or up on your DPAD to move North.

When using a touchscreen with on-screen controls disabled, tapping on the screen will cause the player to move to that position if it is not occupied by someone or something else.

Interacting with People and Things

You can interact with certain objects and people in the game. You do so by pressing the Return key, the A button or by tapping them when you are standing directly beside them.

Battling

In battles, each player and enemy has a turn to act, one after another. Normally the player starts first, but sometimes the enemy will do a Sneak Attack.

During each player's turn in battle, you will select your action from a list of possible actions at the bottom left side of the screen. All possible actions are listed below, but some actions are not available at all times.

Attack

Press Attack to attack an enemy with your weapon. You will then select which enemy you wish to attack. If using a keyboard or gamepad, you select an enemy using the arrows or DPAD. Press Return or the A button again to start the attack. The Escape key or B button may be used at any time to back out of an action before starting it. If you're using touchscreen controls, tap on the enemy you wish to attack to start the action. As always, pressing the red triangle in the top left corner of the screen backs out of an action/menu.

Item

Pressing this option opens a sub-menu where you can select an item to use. After choosing an item, choose a target to use the item on in the same way as you choose a target to attack.

Spell

Using spells is similar to using items. Press Spell from the top-level menu, then select a spell to cast. You can now select one or more targets. To select multiple targets with a keyboard or joystick, press the arrows or DPAD until multiple green arrows appear beside the enemies or players you wish to target. To select multiple targets with a touchscreen, simply tap each player or enemy you wish to target, tapping again to deselect, and then press "Go!" at the bottom middle of the screen. Some spells may appear in black letters in the menu; this means you don't have enough magic points to use this spell. Magic points can be regained by sleeping, touching certain objects and by using the Elixir item on a player.

Vampire

Vampires work in the exact same manner as spells, except they drain the health and magic points of the other player, instead of draining the magic points of the casting player. Vampires can only be cast on enemies.

Defend

By defending, you decrease the damage you take when enemies attack you or use spells on you.

Run

Choose the Run option to try to run away from the battle. Sometimes running may fail. If you succeed, you will drop some gold while making your escape.

Main Menu

The Main Menu can be accessed by pressing Escape, the B button on a gamepad or by tapping the Red Triangle in the top left corner of the screen during free movement segments.

Stats Menu

The first screen your are presented with is the Stats Menu. This shows your players' stats. You can cycle between the players by pressing Comma (,), the Right Bumper (RB) on your gamepad or by tapping the icons of the players at the bottom middle of the screen. If you are using a remote on Android TV or tvOS, you can cycle players with the Play button.

There are several other screens available in the Main Menu. You access them by pressing the Left and Right arrows or DPAD buttons or by tapping the arrows at the bottom of the screen.

Progress Menu

The menu directly to the Left of the Stats Menu is the Progress Menu. Here you can exit the Main Menu by pressing Resume Game, save your game by pressing the Save Game button if available, or quit back to the Title Screen by pressing Quit to title.

Map

To the Left of the Progress Menu is the Map. You can get an idea of the current level layout here. In some areas, the map is hidden.

Items Menu

To the right of the Stats screen is the Items Menu. Using items is done similarly here to how it is done in battle. Items will be used on the active player who is shown at the top left of the screen. The same is true for most other sub-menus of the Main Menu. See the Main Menu section for a description of how to cycle between players.

To view a short description of an item or piece of equipment, Press the E key, the X button on your gamepad or press and hold your finger on an item in the list.

Spells Menu

You can cast White Magic spells from the Spells Menu. Select a spell, then select the player or players you wish to cast it on. Casting on multiple players spreads the effect out, so each player gets less of the effect than if only one player was selected, but added up the effect is slightly greater.

Weapons Menu

You can equip a weapon on this menu. Your current stats and the stats that would take effect if you equipped the selected weapon are shown at the top. Weapons may appear in black if the other player is using them. You can unequip a weapon by activating it if it is equipped. Weapons currently equipped by the active player are shown in cyan.

Armour Menu

Armour is equipped here. Equipping armour functions the same way as equipping weapons. Refer to Weapons Menu above for details.

Vampires Menu

Your Vampires are listed on this menu, but you can only use Vampires in battle.

Discard Menu

If for any reason you wish to get rid of an item or piece of equipment, you can do so on the Discard Menu. You may also sell items and equipment to shopkeepers who deal in those objects.

Saving and Loading Games

There are two types of saved games in Monster RPG 3: regular saves and autosaves.

Regular saves can be made at any Save Zone, inn or bed that you can sleep in. At Save Zones, access the Save Game button from the Progress Menu to save your game. At inns and beds, you will be asked if you want to save. You will select one of five slots to save to and will be prompted to overwrite the current slot if a game exists on that slot.

Autosaves are recorded any time you change levels and after each battle. You can find your autosaves by pressing Right on your keyboard or gamepad at the Load Game menu or by tapping the arrow at the bottom right of said menu.

The Load Game menu is available from the Title Screen. Your saved games are shown with a few stats from the game in a list. You can erase or run a game from here.

Settings

Access the settings by clicking the gear icon from the Title Screen. You can also click the S icon from top right of the Main Menu, press the F1 key or press the Y button on your gampad.

Language Settings

Here you can select your preferred language to display the game in. This option is not accessible if accessed from the Main Menu.

Video Settings

This menu allows you to select a window size or fullscreen resolution to run the game in. This option is not available on iOS or Android.

Audio Settings

You can set the volume for the sound effects and music that the game plays here.

Other Settings

The Other Settings menu has different options depending on which devices you are using. The options are listed below but some may not be available on your device.

TV safe mode - if the game displays outside the border of your TV, you may enable this option to shrink the display slightly so it fits.

Use on-screen controller - If you have a touchscreen, this allows you to use an on-screen controller instead of the Tap-n-Go method during the free movement parts of the game.

Rumble enabled - This option enables or disables the rumble feature for gamepads and phones that support it.

Keyboard Settings

Here you can set the function of the keys on your keyboard. The actions are listed on the left of each line and the binding on the right. First select an action, then press a key to bind that key to the action. If you exit this menu with duplicate bindings, you will be prompted to either change the duplicates or discard your changes.

Joystick Settings

The joystick settings menu is similar to the keyboard settings menu. Select an action from the list, then press a button on your joystick to bind the button to the action.

Achievements

Selecting this option will display your achievement progress.

Sync Cloud Saves

Using this option, you can sync your saved games with the cloud so you can share them between devices.

You will be prompted if any local or cloud saves are to be overwritten. The newest version of saved games either on your device or in the cloud will be kept, and your device and the cloud will be synced so the files match.

3rd Party Licenses

Selecting this option will show license information for some of the software libraries used by the game.

Common Items

A description of some common items found in the game follows.

Potions

Potions restore lost hit points (HP.) There are three types of potions: Potion, Potion Plus and Potion Omega. Each restores more HP than the last. Potions do not restore HP if the player they are used on is knocked out (KO.)

Cure

Cures remove status effects like poison and blindness.

Holy Water

Holy Water revives a knocked out party member, restoring them to full HP.

Elixir

Elixirs restore a player's MP to 100%.

Monster RPG 3 - Manuel

Écran d'accueil

En lançant le jeu, vous arrivez sur l'écran d'accueil, qui regroupe trois boutons sous le logo du jeu. Le bouton Nouveau lance une nouvelle aventure, le bouton Charger vous permet de charger une sauvegarde manuelle ou automatique, le bouton Quitter ferme le jeu et le bouton des options (symbolisé par une petite roue d'engrenage) ouvre le menu des options. Selon les plates-formes, certains de ces boutons peuvent ne pas être disponibles. Certaines plates-formes proposent un bouton Continuer pour reprendre la partie en cours.

Jouer au jeu

Les commandes de jeu varient en fonction de la plate-forme et des périphériques utilisés. Il est possible de jouer avec un clavier, une manette ou un écran tactile. Les descriptions qui suivent indiquent toutes les méthodes disponibles, à vous de sélectionner celles adaptées à votre configuration de jeu.

Pour les commandes au clavier et à la manette, vous pouvez consulter les options pour voir les actions associées à chaque touche. Il vous sera également possible de modifier ces valeurs par défaut si vous le souhaitez.

Triangle rouge

En haut à gauche de l'écran se trouve un triangle rouge. Appuyez dessus pour simuler la touche Échap. En d'autres mots, il vous permettra d'annuler ou de revenir en arrière lorsque vous utilisez un écran tactile ou une souris. Il permet aussi d'ouvrir le menu principal pendant les phases de mouvements libres.

Dialogue

De nombreuses fenêtres de dialogues apparaîtront pendant le jeu. Pour faire défiler les dialogues, appuyez sur la touche Retour, le bouton A de votre manette ou touchez votre écran à n'importe quel endroit.

Se déplacer

Les déplacements sont effectués tuile par tuile dans les quatre directions cardinales : nord, est, sud et ouest.

Si vous utilisez un clavier, une manette ou des commandes à l'écran, les flèches et/ou le pavé directionnel correspondent à ces quatre directions. Par exemple, appuyez sur la flèche vers le haut, ou vers le haut à l'aide du pavé directionnel, pour avancer vers le nord.

Si vous utilisez un écran tactile et que vous avez désactivé les commandes à l'écran, touchez l'écran pour que le personnage joueur atteigne cette position si elle est libre et accessible.

Interagir avec les personnages et les objets

Vous pouvez interagir avec la plupart des objets et personnages du jeu. Pour ce faire, utilisez la touche Retour, le bouton A ou touchez-les lorsque vous êtes situé juste à côté d'eux.

Combats

Dans les combats, joueurs et ennemis agissent à tour de rôle. Généralement, les joueurs commencent le combat, mais certains ennemis peuvent disposer d'une attaque surprise.

À chaque tour d'un personnage joueur, vous pourrez sélectionner votre action parmi une liste d'actions possibles en bas à gauche de l'écran. Voici la liste de toutes les actions possibles, mais toutes ne seront pas systématiquement disponibles.

Attaque

Choisissez Attaque pour frapper l'ennemi avec votre arme. Vous pourrez ensuite sélectionner quel ennemi attaquer. Avec un clavier ou une manette, vous sélectionnerez votre cible avec les flèches ou le pavé directionnel. Appuyez sur Retour ou sur le bouton A pour valider votre attaque. La touche Échap ou le bouton B peuvent être utilisés à tout moment pour annuler une action avant de la valider. Si vous utilisez les commandes à l'écran, touchez l'ennemi que vous désirez attaquer. Comme toujours, utilisez le triangle en haut à gauche de l'écran pour annuler une action ou quitter un menu.

Objets

Choisissez cette option pour ouvrir un sous-menu dans lequel vous pourrez sélectionner un objet à utiliser. Après avoir fait votre choix, sélectionnez la cible sur laquelle vous désirez utiliser l'objet en question de la même manière que vous choisiriez la cible d'une attaque.

Sorts

Utiliser des sorts fonctionne de manière similaire aux objets. Choisissez Sorts dans le menu, pour sélectionner le sort à lancer. Vous pouvez ensuite indiquer une ou plusieurs cibles. Pour sélectionner plusieurs cibles avec un clavier ou une manette, appuyez sur les flèches ou le pavé directionnel jusqu'à ce que plusieurs flèches vertes apparaissent à côté des ennemis ou des joueurs que vous voulez prendre pour cible. Pour sélectionner plusieurs cibles avec un écran tactile, touchez simplement tous les joueurs ou ennemis que vous voulez viser, et touchez-les de nouveau pour annuler la sélection. Appuyez ensuite sur Lancer au milieu en bas de l'écran. Certains sorts peuvent apparaître en noir dans le menu. Cela signifie que vous n'avez pas assez de Points de Magie pour lancer ce sort. Les Points de Magie peuvent être regagnés en dormant, en touchant certains objets ou en utilisant un Élixir dans l'inventaire d'un joueur.

Vampire

Les vampires fonctionnent exactement comme les sorts, mais ils drainent les Points de Vie et de Magie de l'autre joueur, au lieu de consommer les points du joueur qui lance le sort. Les vampires ne peuvent être lancés que sur les ennemis.

Défense

En choisissant de défendre, vous diminuez les dommages encaissés lorsque les ennemis lancent une attaque ou un sort sur vous.

Fuir

Choisissez l'option Fuir pour tenter d'éviter le combat. Cette tentative peut parfois échouer. Si vous réussissez, vous perdrez quelques pièces d'or au cours de votre fuite.

Menu principal

Il est possible d'ouvrir le menu principal en appuyant sur Échap ou sur le bouton B sur la manette, ou encore en touchant le triangle rouge en haut à gauche de l'écran pendant les phases de mouvements libres.

Fenêtre des Stats

Le premier menu que vous verrez est la fenêtre des Stats. Elle regroupe les statistiques de vos personnages joueurs. Vous pouvez passer d'un personnage à l'autre avec la touche Virgule (,), la gâchette droite (RB) de votre manette ou en touchant les icônes des joueurs situées au milieu du bas de l'écran. Si vous utilisez une télécommande sur Android TV ou tvOS, vous pouvez passer d'un personnage à l'autre avec le bouton Play.

Le menu principal donne accès à plusieurs autres écrans. Pour y accéder, utilisez les flèches Gauche et Droite du clavier ou du pavé directionnel, ou touchez les flèches latérales en bas de l'écran.

Fenêtre de Progression

La fenêtre immédiatement à gauche des statistiques est la fenêtre de progression. Elle permet de revenir au jeu, de sauvegarder votre partie (dans les endroits où c'est possible), ou de quitter la partie pour revenir à l'écran d'accueil avec le bouton Retour à l'écran titre.

Carte

Vous trouverez la carte à gauche de la fenêtre de progression. Elle vous aidera à vous orienter dans le niveau en cours. Dans certaines zones, la carte est dissimulée.

Fenêtre des Objets

À droite de la fenêtre des Stats se trouve la fenêtre des Objets. Elle permet d'utiliser les objets de la même manière que pendant les combats. Ces objets seront utilisés sur le personnage actif, affiché en haut à gauche de l'écran. Ceci est aussi vrai pour la plupart des fenêtres du menu principal. Pour savoir comment passer d'un personnage à l'autre, consulter la section consacrée au menu principal.

Pour lire une courte description d'un objet, appuyez sur la touche E, sur le bouton X de votre manette ou maintenez votre doigt appuyé sur un élément de la liste.

Fenêtre des Sorts

Vous pouvez lancer des sorts de magie blanche à partir de cette fenêtre. Sélectionnez un sort, puis sélectionnez le ou les personnages joueurs sur lesquels vous voulez le lancer. Lancer un sort sur plusieurs personnages dilue son effet, donc chacun des joueurs profitera moins de l'effet que si un seul personnage avait été sélectionné, mais la somme des effets est tout de même légèrement plus élevée.

Fenêtre des Armes

Vous pouvez vous équiper d'une arme dans cette fenêtre. Vos statistiques actuelles et la manière dont elles seraient modifiées en équipant l'arme sélectionnée sont indiquées en haut. Le nom d'une arme apparaît en noir si l'autre personnage l'utilise déjà. Vous pouvez replacer une arme dans votre inventaire en l'activant alors que vous en êtes déjà équipé. Les armes actuellement portées par le joueur actif sont affichées en bleu clair.

Fenêtre des Armures

Vous pouvez ici vous équiper d'une armure. Cela fonctionne de la même manière que pour vous équiper d'une arme (voir la section consacrée à la fenêtre des Armes ci-dessus).

Fenêtre des Vampires

Vos Vampires sont listés dans cette fenêtre, mais vous ne pouvez les utiliser qu'au cours d'un combat.

Fenêtre Jeter

Si vous désirez vous débarrasser d'un objet, vous pouvez le faire en passant par cette fenêtre. Notez qu'il est aussi possible de revendre vos objets et votre équipement aux marchands qui en font le commerce.

Sauvegarder et charger une partie

Il y a deux types de sauvegardes dans Monster RPG 3 : les sauvegardes manuelles et les sauvegardes automatiques.

Les sauvegardes manuelles peuvent être effectuées dans les zones de sauvegardes, à l'auberge ou dans n'importe quel lit vous permettant de dormir. Dans les zones de sauvegardes, vous pouvez utiliser le bouton Sauvegarder de la fenêtre de Progression pour effectuer une sauvegarde. Dans les auberges et les lits, il vous sera demandé si vous souhaitez sauvegarder. Vous pourrez ensuite sélectionner un des cinq emplacements de sauvegarde disponibles et il vous sera demandé si vous voulez écraser votre partie si une sauvegarder existe déjà dans cet emplacement.

Les sauvegardes automatiques sont effectuées à chaque fois que vous changez de niveau et après chaque combat. Vous pouvez trouver vos sauvegardes automatiques en utilisant la touche Droite sur le clavier ou le pavé directionnel de la manette à partir du menu de chargement, ou en touchant la flèche située en bas à droite de ce même menu.

Le menu de chargement est disponible à partir de l'écran d'accueil. Vos sauvegardes sont listées avec quelques statistiques sur la partie. Vous pouvez supprimer ou charger une sauvegarde à partir de cet écran.

Options

Vous pouvez accéder au menu des options en cliquant sur l'icône en forme de roue d'engrenage de l'écran d'accueil. Vous pouvez également cliquer sur l'icône en forme de S en haut à droite du menu principal, la touche F1 du clavier ou le bouton Y de votre manette.

Options de langue

Vous pouvez ici sélectionner la langue dans laquelle vous voulez jouer. Cette option n'est pas disponible si vous accéder aux options depuis le menu principal.

Options graphiques

Ce menu vous permet de sélectionner une taille de fenêtre ou la résolution plein écran dans laquelle tournera le jeu. Cette option n'est pas disponible sous iOS et Android.

Configuration audio

Vous pouvez régler ici le volume des bruitages et de la musique du jeu.

Autres options

Les options présentes ici peuvent varier en fonction de l'appareil que vous utilisez. En voici la liste complète.

Mode spécial TV - Si la fenêtre de jeu dépasse des bords de votre écran télé, essayez d'activer cette option pour réduire légèrement la taille de l'affichage afin qu'il rentre.

Utiliser manette virtuelle - Si vous utilisez un écran tactile, ceci vous permet d'utiliser une manette virtuelle affichée à l'écran au lieu de toucher de l'écran pour vous déplacer dans les phases de mouvements libres du jeu.

Vibrations activées - Cette option active ou désactive les vibrations des manettes et des téléphones compatibles avec cette fonction.

Commandes clavier

Cet écran vous permet de consulter et de reconfigurer les touches utilisées pour le jeu. Les actions sont listées sur la gauche de chaque ligne et la touche associée est sur la droite. Commencez par sélectionner une action, puis appuyez sur la touche que vous désirez voir associée à cette action. Si vous tentez de quitter ce menu avec des touches affectées à plusieurs commandes, un message vous demandera de changer ces doublons ou d'annuler vos modifications.

Commandes manette

Le menu des commandes manette est similaire à celui des commandes clavier. Sélectionnez une action dans la liste, puis appuyez sur un bouton de votre manette pour associer ce bouton à l'action.

Succès

Sélectionnez cette option pour afficher la progression de vos succès.

Synchroniser sauvegardes du cloud

Cette option vous permet de synchroniser vos sauvegardes avec le cloud afin de les partager entre plusieurs appareils.

Vous recevrez un message d'avertissement si des sauvegardes locales ou du cloud doivent être écrasées. La version la plus récente des sauvegardes (sur votre appareil ou dans le cloud) sera conservée, et l'autre version sera synchronisée en fonction.

Licences externes

Sélectionnez cette option pour consulter les informations de licence liées aux librairies logicielles utilisées par le jeu.

Quelques objets courants

Voici une description de certains des objets que vous rencontrerez couramment dans le jeu.

Potions

Les potions restaurent vos Points de Vie perdus (PV). Il y a trois types de potions : Potion, Potion Plus et Potion Omega. Chacun permet de récupérer plus de PV que la précédente. Les potions n'ont pas d'effets sur les joueurs qui sont KO.

Guérison

Les guérisons soignent les effets qui affectent de manière prolongée les personnages, comme l'empoisonnement ou l'aveuglement.

Eau bénite

L'eau bénite permet de ramener à la vie un personnage KO, lui redonnant également tous ses PV.

Élixir

L'Élixir restaure l'intégralité des PM d'un personnage.